WELL PLANNED HOARDING – The illusion of the organised

20141114-014639.jpg

It’s been a while. What do I say. I’ve been busy? I have a life? Being a mum is a full time job? My schedule is cluttered? Cluttered. Yes cluttered.

It seems to be that everything in our lives today is cluttered. Our minds, our health, our homes, our diets, our schedules, our work spaces, our computers, our email, our cars, our to do list, including the list of everything needing to be decluttered in our lives. The funny thing is that when we “organise” our lives and our stuff we magically think we are somehow reducing that clutter. Sorry to burst your rainbow filled illusions folks but I’ve discovered a truth about this recently, and it can be best summed up by The Minimalists quote from their ‘Everything That Remains Book’

“Truthfully though, most organizing is nothing more than well planned hoarding”

Lets face it. As human havings we are consumed by our consumables. We work our whole lives to have stuff, then we pass that stuff down to our children so they too can hold false hope that this stuff can help define themselves as human havings too. We can see this each Christmas and Birthday and any other time where stuff is given. How many of us have received such stuff that although you are grateful you simultaneously wonder where on earth you are going to put it, or how you will use it when really the thought would have counted more.

It’s a timely thought particularly in Australia with Spring well and truly sprung, and Christmas just around the corner. For us we organise our clutter, get rid of a handful of stuff, and replace it with a truckload of new stuff. It makes me wonder why as human havings we are so connected to our stuff in a way that seems slightly cuckoo. If the thought counts and people over possessions rule the day, then why oh why are our collections of material items getting bigger, and our quality time with what really matters getting smaller.

Recently I participated in The Minimalists Game whereby each day for 30 days you get rid of items you no longer need. On day one you get rid of one item, day two you get rid of two items, and so forth. Add on a few more items along the way and by the end of 30 days you had reduced your clutter by a whopping 500 items! You must be thinking we are sleeping on the floor and eating out of cans – dont fret – it really is much simpler than you think. Try it and I promise you will surprise yourself. After this challenge I had the enormous pleasure of meeting these lads (Joshua Fields Millburn & Ryan Nicodemus – lucky I’m married because not only were they quite striking, they are minimalists!!!).

20141114-014808.jpg

I asked the lads one question in my short moment with them that really was important (seeing as I’m a nurse nut).

Me: “What’s the biggest impact minimalism has had on your health?”

Josh: “It allowed me to simplify my habits.”
Ryan: “It allowed me to simplify my diet.”

…less stuff gave them more time to exercise

20141114-014706.jpg

Lately I have felt so overwhelmed with “stuff” in both my personal and professional life that I have taken leave, taken time, taken pause. My overwhelm was at a crossroads where I either needed to take this time, or embrace insanity on a new level. Stumbling over The Minimalists couldn’t have been more a synchronicity if you had planned it all along. My home, my life, my career – all currently upside down on a roller coaster ride. It’s okay though. I have realised when chaos abounds, it’s part of the process of remoulding, regenerating, and reforming of our lives.

I’m ready for everything that remains – yes it’s the title of their book, but when you clear the unimportant matter from your life isn’t what remains the most important?

20141114-014618.jpg

2 thoughts on “WELL PLANNED HOARDING – The illusion of the organised

  1. Ahhh. Refreshing. I’m loving, Everything that remains. Decluttering is therapeutic…actually its cheaper than therapy, and my old desire to shop when stressed have now disappeared because I no longer think of buying in terms of helping, but rather worth and how will each item help my/our lifestyle. Money is spent on value – not STUFF. I’m so loving this new way of living. 🙂

Leave a Reply

