THANK YOU FOR THE MUSIC

Holidays. Yep – “sweet dreams are made of this, who am I to disagree?” It was a delayed start, but I am really not that surprised, after all we do have two very gorgeous but very unorganised daughters with OCD. Getting out of the house is rarely a smooth transition. Couple that with an OCD mother and a totally mellowed-out father, and well lets just say that our friends now tell us a time half to one hour before the actual time of any event! I just love it how best friends just know. I promise it is very rarely just one of us, but lets not get started on how long it takes my husband to thread fishing line….

href=”https://balancedawesomeness.files.wordpress.com/2013/09/20130925-230248.jpg”>20130925-230248.jpg

<a

So off we went – finally – and arrived at my cousins house (also my BESTIES) with kids, dog and 4WD stacked up like the Griswold Family in National Lampoons Family Vacation. Painful for us – hilarious for my cousins who are the camping experts! Needless to say I was just glad that we were finally on holiday, and ecstatic that I would get to spend some time with some very special people in our lives. Barb and I raised our girls together as single mums, she supported me (along with hubby and mum) in the birth of Mac, and we have found love again at similar times. Not to mention we have lived it up quite well together too in our day – we drank together, smoked together, cried together, fought together, and even though we live miles apart now we know that means absolutely nothing and we are as close as ever. Chris is the proverbial thorny devil in my side, but darn do I love my cousin to bits. He and my husband are really quite close mates, and we couldn’t live without him in our lives despite how much he stirs me. I know he would always have my back at the mere suggestion of it. And now we get to spend two days with them!

Back in the day (ok only just a few years ago) we would get together on weekends, have dinner or nibbles, have a few drinks – – – – – and bang out some SINGSTAR! Yes I admit it. I am totally in love with singstar. I love music, especially belting out some tunes with my friends over a few drinks, having flashbacks from all the best music…usually 70’s and 80’s whilst our kids roll their eyes and figure if you cant make them stop – join them…HA! So of course a catchup wouldn’t be complete without a night of singstar.
When you think about it, music does surround every significant event in life. You remember the songs that were playing for your first kiss, your 18/21 birthday, your wedding, the songs you sang to your baby when they were young (come on you have to admit you sang more than just nursery rhymes to them). So I say “thank you for the music, the songs we’re singing. Thanks for all, the joy their bringing”.

Not only that but it’s a royal hoot too. Nothing is funnier than seeing two 50-something men groovin and moovin to Madonnas Material Girl and just about getting “singstar” title on it (Im still awaiting approval to upload the picture evidence). Then you have the three women of similar youthful *ahem* age reliving our teen years singing – sorry rapping – Ice Ice Baby, well weren’t our teenage daughters surprised by our sheer awesomeness. Not as surprised however as some people would be that they love all the same songs and are quite proficient at them too. They were surprised however that most of the world was quite unaware for a long time that WHAM’s George Michael was gay, they said “mum how could you NOT have known? Look at his hair and clothes!” It was then that we had to come clean that it was in fact the fashion and we all (except for the new romantics of course) dressed that way. Oh I can feel the grey hairs sprouting as I type.
href=”https://balancedawesomeness.files.wordpress.com/2013/09/20130925-230322.jpg”&gt;20130925-230322.jpg
Its amazing how other people can open our eyes to music and different artists at different times in our lives. My husband introduced me to Blondie and Pat Benetar, and now our children love to hear them and have themselves discovered vinyls.

Well that is me for the time being. I have a lot of blogging to catch up on but stay tuned – I have been uploading some video footage/messages too on my Facebook page. Head over and like my page and stay up to date www.facebook.com/MyInfiniteBalanceSC

After all the Plucks are camping – never know what could happen!

What are your favourite tunes from “back in the day”?

Everybody Be Awesome!
TAM 

<a

Leave a Reply

