Daily Prompt: Take Care

 

Daily Prompt: Take Care.

When you’re unwell, do you allow others to take care of you, or do you prefer to soldier on alone? What does it take for you to ask for help?

Hmmm…good question. I’m blessed that my days of being sick, catching colds or sniffling my way through winter are far and very few between. One school of thought say that it is because I am a nurse and have developed the immune system of an ox (not that I am an expert on the functioning of an Ox’s immune system – really!). Another school of thought is that its a direct reflection of where I live – on the coast near the beach – Australias beaches are just devine! Yet another school of thought is that it is due to me eating more spinach than the average Popeye-the-Sailor-Man. But really I think it is a mixture of all of the above. But there I do – leading you all down the garden path that is my mind!

On the rare occassion that I am sick, I do let people look after me. But I am selective in that. For instance I will let my husband do anything for me (ok except fold the washing because lets face it – I am the ONLY one that can do it right – so if I am sick the washing is in the basket kids…HA!) I will let my girls do little jobs around the house, but thats the status quo anyway with the recent enforcement of chores – WINNING! And of course I will let them hug me, kiss me and pray for me until the cows come home. My mamma bear gets the obvious pleasure too of looking after me if she is nearby (now a 2hr drive away BOO!). But no one else. I have real trouble letting other people help or look after me or accepting offered help. But I will readily go help another sick person. Yes I know the whole accepting a gift speak but I feel a burden – probably comes from the many years I spent really sick.

Mostly though I soldier on. The house doesnt clean itself. My responsibilities dont go on holiday. My children dont go on auto pilot. So sometimes all there is to do is to take a spoonful of concrete and harden the * up. Yeah I said it. Sometimes you have to get out of your own way and end the pity party in boo-hoo-me street. Most of the time you feel better for having done the big girl pants dance anyway.

What would it take for me to ask for help? Well that would be if me being sick impacted on other people that relied on me for something – period – thats it. Now lets hope talking about all this illness doesnt summon the wrath of the bug fairies. A little affirmation to close maybe?

I AM WELL. I AM INFINITELY HEALTHY. I HAVE AN AMAZING IMMUNE SYSTEM. MURPHYS LAWS ARE NOT REAL.

Everybody Be Well and AWEOSME!!!

TAM 🙂

10 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Take Care

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Take Care | On My Front Porch

  2. Pingback: Whatever was I thinking! | MindBlur

  3. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: MOTHER NEVER RETIRES | Diary of a mind

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt ; Take Care | terry1954

  5. Pingback: What Do Pigs Know That Humans Don’t? | The Jittery Goat

  6. Love the daily prompt! and its very timely for lots of us what with all the sniffles and tummy bugs around. I agree with you. Letting just anyone look after me (unless in hospital) is uncomfortable but I will happily let others make me drinks and bring me food while I lay on the lounge. But really the only thing that knocks me down is a headache. I can handle most of the other stuff but don’t really get sick that much :). It is very easy to fall into the habit of making yourself feel sicker than you really are and the best way to overcome it is to do stuff.

  7. Pingback: Take Care, Daily Prompt | Edward Hotspur

  8. Pingback: Pride | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  9. Pingback: Pride | Kick-Ass Ireland!

Leave a Reply

