THE WEE ONES ARE PRECIOUS

My girls are the loves of my life.

My girls are the loves of my life.

When I woke this morning I had a sense today was different. Kind of odd in a way you cannot articulate. I have these days of unease sometimes – but most of the time it will just happen that I will get a call that something is wrong with a loved one or friend, or I will find out something is wrong with a client. I dont know how but I just sense these things and one day I will go into futher details about this but for now I have a purpose to this post. Because this morning I woke, dressed for an expected long day at work, had breakfast, had some short but quality moments laughing with my husband and kids, and did some mamma bear stuff for the kidlets. Little did I know…..

So I start driving to work when I hear a comment or too, as vague as they were, about the Boston Marathon. As I drive to work I think to myself…yeah I still really want to do that Marathon – the gold standard of Marathons, that would just be awesome for Mr O-A and I to do together. Then I get to work and I hear the news and see it on the television playing in the surrounding area. “Bombs explode at finish line of Boston Marathon”. Oh dear and there it is…the sinking horrible feeling in the pit of my stomach, I just knew this morning that something sad or horrible had occured I just had to wait to find out what. How devastating, and sad, and frustrating, and horrible, and, well, how do you describe such a horrible thing. Then I see the captions at the bottom of the screen….”8yo child dies waiting for father to finish”….like a dagger in my gut – that poor kid. Cheering at the finish line. Eyes full of sparkling anticipation for his dad, his hero. Heart bursting with admiration for the most amazing man in his life. Mind overflowing with how he will one day grow up to be just as great. Boy oh boy how sad. Terribly terribly sad.

So my next post was going to be about how little ones are growing up so fast and how society seems to almost think its cute that these little ones are like mini-me’s, but I think that for today I am just going to talk about how precious our wee ones are. Because I am certain that when that little ones family awoke they certainly didnt realise what the day would hold for them. Again how sad.

Wee ones are special. I dont just mean special to their mothers and fathers. I mean really really special. To us, to society, to the future, to everyone. Wee ones hold within them that purity and innocence that we as a society should protect. But they also hold within them such amazing knowledge, and wisdom, and insight, that we tend to lose in our adult years. They seem to have an intuition and way of understanding that far surpasses what we give them credit for in their young years. We come to think as adults that although precious, these wee ones just dont have the ability to “get it” and thus we tend to coat real life, and hide from them the real world and their natural ability to figure it out.

My Two Miss's

My Two Miss’s

Each wee one is so totally special and unique, with something fantastic to offer the world. Which I guess is why I dont understand how people cannot appreciate their own children especially when they are young. For me, I really do cherish every moment with my girls, because they are not only my life but my reason for breathing each day, the reason I have acheived what I have, and the reason I have overcome the obstacles in my life. I see my children as my catalyst. They inspire me each day to be better and more awesome. For instance my girls have recently decided to go dairy free, all of their own accord, because they have learnt what happens in the current dairy industry. Understand that this is their choice, and as loving parents we are happy to support whatever they feel is their STAND in life, we will accomodate whatever they need to do this, as a family. As well as this my girls spend time in aged care facilities, and love every minute of it. They love nothing more that to spend time with the “grammas and grappas” (as Macca Moo calls them), and truly do respect that generation and all the valuable things they can teach them. They approach them with love, respect and understanding of their frailty. This does make me a very proud mamma.

What I dont understand also is how any sister, aunt, uncle, or other can fail to recognise this unique and special impact these wee ones have in our lives, and how what they do or dont do can tear that apart. I guess the girls are just blessed that I am like a bulldog and willing to fight for them even when everyone around us thinks I am being unfair.

Love my girl

Love my girl

Today in light of this tragedy, and despite that we think and feel this everyday – we hug our children and loved ones just a little bit tighter. We look straight into our wee ones eyes and tell her how much we love her. We hold our almost-teen and tell her how important and amazing she is to us and how much we love her.

We send our granddaughter and her mum and dad thoughts and prayers of love just as we do every other day. And we remember just how fleeting life is, and how you may not get a tomorrow to say you are sorry and to make things right with wee little ones. And then we thank God for taking care of us no matter what happens, and realise that the sun will rise tomorrow. We remember that lives will go on tomorrow, just as they already have. But we dont forget for one second that little boy waiting at a different finish line now for his mum and dad.Love and light to all who have been affected by this terrible thing.

Everybody Send AWESOME to Boston!!!

TAM XXX

2 thoughts on “THE WEE ONES ARE PRECIOUS

  1. I woke with that same uneasy feeling yesterday. I felt as though my soul had been offended but I had not idea why. I think I am becoming more aware intuitively as to what is happening around me. Yesterday I felt shocked, but this morning as I listen to the news I feel angry that some person or group had the nerve to hurt innocent people at an event where families and friends gather to celebrate and support their friend or family.

    Tam. I thought this was an awesome blog post. xo

  2. My heart goes out to all those in Boston especially those who have lost loved ones and those injured by the blasts. It is sad that these awful situations are becoming so much a part of the daily news and I wonder how long before Australia is also a victim of terrorism. Thanks Tam for reminding us that although this event happened in another country, we all have so much to be grateful for and can learn from this, to appreciate our loved ones but most especially the ‘wee’ ones. Great post written from the heart xx

Leave a Reply

