ARE YOU A GRUMPY CAT?

Are you grumpy - or just happiness challenge. (Credit: google images)

Are you grumpy – or just happiness challenge. (Credit: google images)

Anyone who is anyone (ok, ok, anyone of facebook) has heard of, or seen “The Grumpy Cat“. In fact I think if you look at Grumpy Cats face you can almost see that one person in your life that continuously resembles this delightful *ahem* bundle of joy – and yes probably resembles the rest of us when we are at our worse, but thats all I’m admitting to!

The reason I am thinking about Grumpy Cat is entirely opposite to the thought bubble you have in your head right now but I wanted you to have an opposite point of reference. My real reason for this post is to share the exciting and amazing movie/doco that I saw on Friday night at our local university, and presented by Red Day Coaching before the rest of the world gets to see it. The movie I am talking about is called “HAPPY” I for one am entirely excited that I went.  I almost didnt go however, because I had ordered the tickets a while ago after my luncheon with Rachael Bermingham when she shared this great opportunity. So with my overloaded mother/wife/friend/nurse brain on, and still barely being able to function with a full on week of work and a healing tooth extraction – I had forgotten entirely that this screening was coming up. So when I got a text message from Red Day Coaching to remind me – I just thought what the hell! Mr Omni-Awesome was going to be at work until late so Miss Macca Moo and I had mamma and me time to do something together…and I managed to gather a few colleagues and friends to come too.

So basically, the HAPPY movie explored the infinite facets of happiness. It explored the views and experiences of people from all around the world from almost every walk of life (I really dislike that term, but at 230am in the morning – and the only time I have uninterupted quiet on school holidays – its all I could think of…but I digress) in relation to what happiness is and means to them. Interestingly it was those that had the least, or had endured the most, that were the happiest and seemingly had this happiness thing truly figured out. It appeared to just “be” with those people, which as a cancer victor and a “life happens” victor (I think I prefer to be victorious rather than just surviving), I really do get it. It is because of my life experiences and experience as a nurse that I can look at my own obstacles and still remain happy because there is so much in life to be greatful and truly happy about.

The movie totally ripped open the scientific truth of happiness as a relevant and proven method of improving life and wellness outcomes. Who says its illegal to take drugs? Give me some natural dopamine anyday! And boy did I hear nervous giggles of knowing from my dear dear friends sitting beside me when the comment arose in the movie that aerobic exercise was one of those things that increased this release of happy drug in our bodies (not to be confused with happy meals, I dont think McDonalds have natural dopamine in their *ahem* food). The science of happiness and all things happy and natural have really interested me since probably before my university training. But I remember focussing on these topics in an assignment/presentation on CAM therapies – complementary alternative therapies. But surprisingly what came through in the literature above CAMs such as acupuncture etc, was activities such as prayer, strong family connections, basically any activities that provided true joy and leave of worry for an individual.  And furthermore health providers are now being encouraged to provide strengths based approaches to the provision of care – meaning utilising the skills people innately have already. As was highlighted in this film by the Dalai Lama we are born with compassion in our blood, we have it our entire lives. So how can it be that we as a society has lost out compassion, how is it that we have lost our happiness?

It is highly devastating that society (much in the western world) is so caught up with being “super-sized successful”, “super-sized rich”, “super-sized everything”, that we have forgotten what we have right in front of us – HAPPY! JOY! LOVE! Instead we are teetering on the edge of KAROSHI – which in Australia can be termed “work yourself to death”. Yes, its a simple as that. This documentary brought to light something I had never even heard existed yet it is not only prevalent, it is something the Japanese are concerned about much of the time. And unless we start recognising that this method of working like a trojan is not working for us and is certainly not the type of world or legacy we want to leave to our children or grandchildren, then it bothers me that we are headed the same way.

So what do we do? Well this wonderful documentary showed a prime example of what we *should* be focussed on. You see in Bhutan, they have begun focussing on, measuring, and recognising the importance not of a gross national profit, but their gross national happiness. I am so excited about this because it means that somewhere in the world people are starting to focus on what is important. When everything is looked at simply there is one thing that YOU can do and that I can do to make the world change domino style – by making an individual choice each and every day to be happy, to do things that make you happy, to do things that make another happy, to chase your bliss. Happiness is like a really cool and awesome disease – so go out and spread that stuff everywhere!

Most people who know me know that I am sickeningly happy 99% of the time (unless you are withholding chocolate or telling me Im not allowed to go for my run, and then the only thing you will be worrying about is whether your legs are faster than mine!), and although I got it already and am working within my current job as a Nurse to implement FISH! Philosophy – there is always room to grown and learn. Let me say that when this movie comes out I will have the universe attending.

Unfortunately all pre screenings of HAPPY is finished but I hear that the movie will be released later in the year so stay tuned and I will update you all with details as they come through, so dont forget to follow me here or on facebook. And head over to Red Day Coaching for resources, coaching and business guidance. They have great vision and I will certainly be following them closely, awaiting the release of a program for teens – because personally I would like to get through my daughters teenage years with a few less than expected grey hairs, and just a snippet of my sanity.

Dont hold the HAPPY in - it could be dangerous! (Credit: google images)

Dont hold the HAPPY in – it could be dangerous! (Credit: google images)

So what makes you happy and why? How do you create your own happy each day? Share your stories and experiences of happy. Let us all in on your happy tips. Everybody Be AWESOMELY HAPPY!!! TAM 🙂 Ps. Head over to my facebook page My Infinite Balance, click like and join in the poll about being happy

2 thoughts on “ARE YOU A GRUMPY CAT?

  1. I just want to say I’m beginner to blogging and seriously loved you’re web blog. Almost certainly I’m planning to bookmark your website . You absolutely have remarkable stories. Appreciate it for sharing with us your website.

  2. Pingback: My gap year, a journey towards enlightenment | Maccas run, car-parks and hitchhiking with Police -(A true story)

Leave a Reply

