AM I TRI-ING HARD ENOUGH?

AM I TRI-ING HARD ENOUGH???

There is only 25 sleeps until my first triathlon. And although it is only a mini (I am tri-ing for the long of 300m swim, 9km bike, 3km swim)…it will be the first time doing an event of this type. Just a tad daunting since I have only just gotten a handle on running (as slow as it is lol). So I ask myself if I have been TRI-ING hard enough in my training leading up to it. And I am afraid my answer is a big fat dirty NO!!!

I dont think it has been lack of motivations because making it publicly known that I am doing this event is motivation enough.  I think my main factor has been the ridiculous work hours and family hours I keep. It certainly hasn’t been a walk in the park thats for sure. Between that and my bleeding feet (eczma) and hands and very little sleep I u derestimated the time it would take to be ready for this event.

Will I take my eye off the prize of being able to say I did it? Hell no!!! In fact I dont give two cows in a tulip field if I come in last…as long as someone has a nice cold Carona and lime waiting for me Hahaha. The reason I dont care is because primarily I am happy to be able bodied enough to do these things…especially since I was a woman with not enough steam to make a five minute power walk without the need for a stand by ambos (lol) just over a year ago. Nope I will proudly drag my ever shrinking butt over that finish line to my awaiting family and friends. My wonderful husband and children are among my biggest supporters and I know they are proud of how far I have come and they aspire to do great stuff now too. In fact hubz told me the other day that he would like to run the half marathon with me next year (yeah just so he can beat me…Hmmm might have to sneak in a bit more training lol), and both my girls enjoy running with me too.

So my aim these next few weeks is to prepare a little more physically bit also to prepare mentally too…which will mean not allowing others to contaminate my bubble. I started today with a pretty decent walk (maybe about 10kms?) some flat some graduated. It was lovely though I didn’t run much of it.

So by all means if you are down at the sunshine coast pink triathlon cheer cheer cheer…its for a cause and will be awesomely empowering for all the women that are entering. Now to bide my time til my one piece tri suit arrives….complete with my nickname “sunny” on the back…yahhhh too exciting!!!

Everybody Be AWESOME!!!

TAM 🙂

PS…stay tuned soon for my next post “Great men and who has them – me!” & “Evil step-parents – I am one” 😛

2 thoughts on “AM I TRI-ING HARD ENOUGH?

Leave a Reply

