BUEN CAMINO

I was going to have a movie night but….

…oh wait! I had a movie day!!!

So last week I had a couple of “mental health” days off and decided that it might be nice to watch a movie or two. Little did I know (gosh I love that saying – full of potential – but thats an entirely different post)…so little did I know – that this movie would give me yet another goal,  a goal that most of my friends are going to label me ‘insane’!  All but my gorgeous Miss 12 who now has the same goal after watching this movie…I think I may have created a delightful monster in this precious one x

Ok so a little spin on the movie (and I know that within the first few sentences you will guess our new family goal!).  The movie is called “The Way” and its blurb is as follows

THE WAY is a powerful and inspirational story about family, friends and the challenges we face while navigating this ever-changing and complicated world. Martin Sheen plays Tom, an irascible American doctor who comes to France to deal with the tragic loss of his son (played by Emilio Estevez). Rather than return home, Tom decides to embark on the historical pilgrimage “The Way of St. James” to honor his son’s desire to finish the journey. What Tom doesn’t plan on is the profound impact this trip will have on him. Through unexpected and oftentimes amusing experiences along “The Way,” Tom discovers the difference between “the life we live and the life we choose.”

 

I think I love those last few words the most! Now the Way of St James – or the Camino de Santiago – is an 800km trek that crosses through the Pyrenees Mountains along the spanish-french border beginning at St Jean Pied de Port…and ends in Santiago de Compostella for the pilgrims mass held each day at noon.  This walk is a pilgrimage…a spiritual, cultural journey for penance, enlightenment or for the sheer adventure of it and involves the immersion of local life all the while collecting stamps on the Camino passport at each checkpoint.

The Camino, by its nature, serves as the ultimate metaphor for life.  Footsteps along a well-trodden path may be our guide, but do not shield us from the questions that most of our busy everyday lives prevent us at times from fully recognizing.  The road offers very little to hide behind.  The process of life is life along whichever road, path, Camino, or Way we find ourselves on.  Our humanity toward ourselves and others, our history and our future is what defines us.  Take the journey of life.  Buen Camino!

So as a family we have decided that when our eldest graduates high school she is going to take leave of ordinary life, along with us all, and we will mark this entry into her life as an adult (as she will also be turning 18 around the same time) with a journey – an opportunity for us to experience something awesome, adventurous, challenging and life changing.  We will walk this route – and although it may take us 2-3 months, we will utilise every second of this to celebrate the life we have chosen to live…not being stuck in the life that is handed to us.

 

Every life has a journey and I do believe that things are put in our journey for a reason…and although I have been through the wash in this past week I will eventually build some steps out of this black hole (and I am sure this wont happen overnight) and I will stick my symbolic middle finger to all the haters and naysayers as I continue my life of awesome balance being fabulous and achieving things that most never dream of…

…just watch me!!!

 

Everybody Be AWESOME!!!

TAM 🙂

Leave a Reply

